The department was established in 1984 with 6 foundation members. They were:

Rick Acland
Cary Griffiths
Michael Radley
Ravi Thadaka
Evan Watts
David Woolner

We have now grown to approximately 60 specialist anaesthetists.
Previous Clinical Directors:

Rick Acland 1984-
Evan Watts
Charles Hollings 1992-1993
Lars Molving 1993-1994
Mark Bukofzer 1994-2000
Andrew Love 2000-2011
Tania Hunter 2011-2016
Charles McFarlan 2016-2019