2023 Fellows
Dr Jessica Bruce (Can)
Dr Michael Carpenter (NZ)
Dr Georgina Denning-Kemp (NZ)
Dr Jason Goh (NZ)
Dr Carl Hume (NZ)
Dr Ania Pozaroszczyk (NZ)

2022 Fellows
Dr Nafeesa Akhtar (UK)
Dr Oliver Ball (NZ)
Dr Matthew Beard (NZ)
Dr Jonathan Bennett (NZ)
Dr Matthew Lowe (NZ)
Dr Kathryn Travis (NZ)

2021 Fellows
Dr Sophie Gormack (NZ)
Dr Melanie Hwang (NZ)
Dr Calvin Lim (NZ)
Dr Vinesh Mistry (UK)
Dr Geoffrey Ryder (UK)
Dr Brent Sew Hoy (NZ)

2020 Fellows
Dr Mohamed Alhomary (NZ)
Dr Lauren Elizabeth (NZ)
Dr Thida Evennett (NZ)
Dr Max Hattaway (NZ)
Dr Abraham Jacobson (NZ)
Dr Karen Park (NZ)
Dr Simon Versteeg (NZ)

2019 Fellows
Dr Siva Arumugam (NZ)
Dr Rebecca Brinkler (UK)
Dr Raegen Cleven (Can)
Dr Shadi Gadalla (NZ)
Dr Greta Pearce (NZ)
Dr Catherine White (NZ)

2018 Fellows
Dr Emily Buddicom (NZ)
Dr Jon Holland (UK)
Dr Manson Ku (NZ)
Dr Fergal McDonagh (Ire/NZ)
Dr Karen Mullaney (UK)
Dr Samuel Wall (NZ)

2017 Fellows
Dr Sofia Huddart (UK)
Dr Kristen Kiroff (Aus)
Dr Beau Klaibert (NZ)
Dr Irene Whyte (NZ)

2016 Fellows:
Dr Titaina Palacz (NZ)
Dr Bhavin Shukla (UK)
Dr Maartje Tulp (NZ)
Dr Ewa Wilson (UK)

2015 Fellows:

Dr Daniel Chiang (NZ)
Dr Roana Donohue (NZ)
Dr Gemma Malpas (NZ)
Dr Anna Rainey (NZ)
Dr Ghassan Talab (NZ)
Dr Sophie van Oudenaaren (NZ)
Dr Ewa Wilson (UK)

2014 Fellows:
Dr Robert Axe (UK)
Dr Marlin De Silva (NZ)
Dr Lindsay Gray (NZ)
Dr Patrick McKendry (UK)
Dr Daniel Polakovich (UK)
Dr Margarita Tormo (Spain)

2013 Fellows:
Dr Chao-Yuan Chen (NZ)
Dr George Gorringe (NZ)
Dr Daniel Polakovich (UK)
Dr Peter Robinson (NZ)
Dr Margarita Tormo (Spain)

2012 Fellows:
Dr Nitin Gadgil (Ireland)
Dr Ben Kumar (NZ)
Dr Matthew Law (UK)
Dr Glenn Mulholland (NZ)
Dr Shuba Nadarajah (NZ)

2011 Fellows:
Dr David Burton (NZ)
Dr Tarragon Chisholm (NZ)
Dr Glenn Mulholland (NZ)
Dr Navdeep Sidhu (NZ)
Dr James Wong (NZ)
Fellowship Positions in Anaesthesia

The department is accredited by the Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists (ANZCA) for a variety of fellowship positions. These are:

All fellows are expected to contribute to departmental audit, research and/or measures for quality improvement. A research project in a relevant area may be allocated to the fellow on commencement of duties.

Employment conditions are as per the multi-employer collective agreement of the Association of Salaried Medical Specialists (ASMS).

In addition, there are 2 Senior Registrar positions which fulfil the requirements of the provisional fellowship year (PFY) for ANZCA trainees. Allocation to a Senior Registrar post is conducted by the Northern Regional Alliance (NRA). Appointments to Registrar posts in the Auckland region are centralised and are advertised here.

Minimum Requirements
  • Eligible for registration with the Medical Council of New Zealand
  • New Zealand and Australian trainees: Fulfilled all requirements of Advanced Training to allow progress to Provisional Fellowship training when commencing the post
  • UK trainees: Completed ST5 and all Essential Units of Higher Level Training by commencement of post, with a minimum of 4 years experience in clinical anaesthesia.
  • Republic of Ireland trainees: Completed SAT5 (with eligibility to progress to SAT6) by commencement of post, with a minimum of 4 years experience in clinical anaesthesia.
  • Canadian trainees: Completed a residency accredited by the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, with a minimum of 4 years experience in clinical anaesthesia.

  • Positions commence in the last week of January each year with a 12-month appointment
  • Applications open in Feb/March the preceding year, with a closing date in mid-late April. Rarely, vacant positions are advertised in September or October.
  • Positions will be advertised on the ANZCA job vacancies page and the DHB’s recruitment website.
  • For specific enquiries, please contact the Fellowship Supervisor, Dr Julia Foley

Lead Fellow
One fellow is appointed as the Lead Fellow for each cohort, in a role similar to the ‘Chief Resident’ in some training programmes. They are responsible for organising the fellow after-hours roster, and are expected to act as an advocate for their colleagues and other junior doctors in the department. Previous Lead Fellows are:

  • 2022: Dr Matthew Lowe
  • 2021: Dr Brent Sew Hoy - Specialist in North Shore Hospital, Auckland, NZ
  • 2020: Dr Karen Park - Staff Specialist in North Shore Hospital, Auckland, NZ
  • 2019: Dr Catherine White - Staff Specialist in North Shore Hospital, Auckland, NZ
  • 2018: Dr Samuel Wall - Staff Specialist in North Shore Hospital, Auckland, NZ
  • 2017: Dr Irene Whyte - Staff Specialist in Christchurch Hospital, Christchurch, NZ
  • 2016: Dr Titaina Palacz - Staff Specialist in North Shore Hospital, Auckland, NZ
  • 2015: Dr Roana Donohue - Staff Specialist in Christchurch Hospital, Christchurch, NZ

I found the Regional Anaesthesia fellowship to be an incredibly worthwhile and stimulating job. The department has been very welcoming and very giving of their time for teaching and support. My usual week consisted of 2 days of speciality lists requiring blocks which were mainly elective Orthopaedics, commonly upper limb and joint replacements, one day of service provision such as acute Obstetrics or General Surgery, half day in pre-op assessment clinic and half day as Coordinator, the remaining time was non-clinical and rostered time off. Over time, I was given more independence with surgical lists, eventually having my own lists which I would liaise directly with the surgeon when there were any issues. Over the course of the year I feel I have developed my clinical skills, regional anaesthesia ability, and grown as a clinician. I have also improved my teaching and managerial skills. It has been a great opportunity and I would highly recommend this Fellowship to everyone!
Dr Ghassan Talab (2015 Regional Anaesthesia fellow)